EDITORIAL NEWS

A Newsletter can only exist by the grace of its readers contributing items for inclusion. It is the Editor's continual worry that he doesn't get enough of them. So, when you read this issue, and discover that some subject important to you has been missed, please climb into your pen, ballpoint, typewriter, or PC, and let me know immediately, so that in the next issue this omission can be corrected. See your name and deeds in print!

- The Flora Malesiana network discussion group: to join send an e-mail to listsery@herbarium.ukm.my
- and include in the body (not in the subject line) the text subscribe floramalesiana Your Full Name (e.g. subscribe floramalesiana one word! John Smith Leiden).
- Flora Malesiana Series I, Volume 14, is scheduled to appear by the end of 1999. It will contain *Myristicaceae* (W.J.J.O. de Wilde). First drafts of the manuscripts on *Caryophyllaceae* (K. Larsen) and *Cycadaceae* (D.J. de Laubenfels) are far advanced.
- Flora Malesiana Series II, Volume 4, will contain treatments of the monotypic *Mona-chosoraceae* (H.P. Nooteboom) and part of the *Pteridaceae: Ceratopteridoideae* (H.P. Nooteboom) and *Taenitideae* (H. Schneider).
- The Fourth Flora Malesiana Symposium, 1998, Kuala Lumpur, preceded by the Ben Stone Symposium was a great success, I think. The Organizers of both are to be thanked (again) for all their efforts to make it so. We are surely all looking very much forward to the Proceedings.
- The **Fifth Flora Malesiana Symposium** will be held in Sydney, Australia, in September, 2001.
- It will be preceded by some specialised workshops to be held in North Queensland near Cairns early in September. One of these workshops will involve hands-on training in the production of interactive identification keys and information packages.
- Flora Malesiana V will be co-hosted by the Centre for Plant Biodiversity Research, Canberra, and the Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney, with Dr. A. Hay (NSW) and Dr. J. West (CANB), both Board Members of the Flora Malesiana Foundation, acting as co-chairs of the organising committee.